Connectivism & Connected Knowledge Course: Day 2 (#CCK11)

Concept Map: What is Connectivism?

(Credit for this concept Map: Jane Wilde wildejk@gmail.com http://bit.ly/hif03W )

What did I learn today?

First, through the course Daily Newsletter, I came across the CMAP shown above. It was made by Jane Wilden, in a previous course. I think it provides a very good overview of what connectivism is.

Did I do anything else?

Yes, I actually bravely began to write a few comments on a few of the blog posts that have already linked their RSS feed into the course daily newsletter. Would you believe that I also have my blog identity, Profesorbaker’s Blog, also connected into the course newsletter?

That means that every time I blog and use the course hashtag, #CCK11, that the post will be automatically picked up and distributed by the course newsletter. That means others who find themselves following the same or similar lines of inquiry about connectivism as a learning theory can easily find me, and connect with me, and together we can support the learning interests of the other. Pretty cool, huh?

To be honest, I find it fascinating…

What else did I do today?

Well, hundreds of people keep introducing themselves on the introduction post. And you guessed it, people from all walks of life, from all over the planet, are already connecting based on common interests, common history, and this course is simply bringing people together, like a giant, interconnected net, made of many nodes, helping new networks begin to form, or to strengthen existing ones…

Connectivism: A learning theory for a digital age. (Credit: Ocean Flynn on Flickr)

Tomorrow is gonna be a good day, Day 3. We are going to have our first “live” session tomorrow, using the Elluminate platform. Here’s the info you need:

Wednesday: Live Session: Location: Elluminate . Course Overview & IntroductionTime:8:00 p.m. Moscow; 5:00 p.m. London; 12 noon New York; 9:00 a.m. Los Angeles; 1:00 a.m. Thursday Beijing…

Well, that’s all for now. If this stuff looks like fun, you can still join in. If a digital immigrant like me can do this, then you know you can do it too.

Take care,
Thomas

Advertisements

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Connectivism, Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s