Essays On Education: When One Teaches Two Learn (My Next Project)

Essays on Education

I would like to introduce you to my next project (my 59th book), a book I’ve been planning to write for a long time (really).

As you can see, it’s already got its cover, so I’m serious about this book. It’s the first time I’ve had the cover done before I had the book written. Now, I’ve got to do the writing, and I’m choosing some awesome topics to include in the book, as you will see later. Some will surprise you, others you knew I would be writing about some favorite topics of mine from the past, only this time from a different perspective.

Anyway, I have reversed the process, doing the multimodal visual tasks first, putting the visual concept in front of the writing, reversing the process. I’d like to share with you what I have done so far. So, yes, this is an anticipation of what I have no doubt will be a memorable book.

First, here is the:

DEDICATION

For all those teachers in the Luxora Public School System, who had a part in my education, in any way, shape, or form, you have my never-ending gratitude.

For all those whose education I have played a part in, please forgive me for my shortcomings, for I have always aspired to be the catalyst for a brighter future for all of you.

I have believed in you, just as my teachers believed in me. I have held great expectations of you, just as my teachers held great expectations of me.

If we succeeded, you and I, well, I’m happy just knowing that the journey was a pleasant one, filled with joy, with enthusiasm, with uncertainty, and with the hope that if we did our best, we would never yearn for tomorrow to come twice, because once would be enough…

Well, as you can see, this is going to be an awesome book, so stay tuned for future updates….

I hope you have enjoyed my latest book, Second Language Acquisition, Language, Culture & Identity.


I’m using the same personal, warm, friendly writing style, so as you read this book, and as you read that book, you will feel, sense, hear, and recognize the “voice” of a familiar friend, once again talking about life, about education, about all things to do with learning and teaching, with conviction, with passion, and yet at the same time, listening to you, responding to your understandings of an apparent contradiction in the thesis: “When One Teaches Two Learn“.

So, I urge you, ask you, to get a copy of my latest book if you haven’t already done so. It will prepare you to enjoy this book, the give and the take of our shared dialogue, in conversation with one another, me, from the pages of the written word, and you, from the pages of your heart, of your mind, and of your very real capacity to hope for a brighter future, in spite of all the evidence we have nowadays of the contrary.

That’s why we come together, me as the writer, you as the reader, to share our hopes and dreams…

Stay tuned for another great book!

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Connectivism, Culture, Education, Education Technology, EFL, Higher Education Teaching & Learning, Reading, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

