The Nicest Thing You Can Do For An Author: Audiobook Project for “Storytellers” (Audition Excerpt)

The nicest thing you can do for an author is take care of us, especially when we are just starting out. If you take care of us, we will only get better. I’m speaking of myself, obviously, but I am absolutely convinced it applies to every writer who has ever had the courage to offer a story to the public.

Usually, we stink pretty bad when we first begin. There are some brilliant writers who always wrote well, from the very first time they picked up a pen and put it to paper. I admit that I’m not one of them, the brilliant ones, the ones awarded their talent at birth by the grace of God.

Since I wasn’t born a writer, but really love writing about the things I have experienced in my life, I have to work at it. I read other writers, always looking for techniques that I can incorporate, styles that fit my personality, that resonate with my own authorial voice.

It’s hard work, and the journey is a long one. In fact, I don’t think this journey will ever end. Becoming a writer has an incredibly steep learning curve. Yet from time to time, I do stop, look back over the road I’ve come, and recognize my inadequate first attempts.

I also see myself getting better, improving at some aspect of writing. There is always something new to learn. At present, I’ve developed into a writer capable of doing the three tasks that an indie writer has to do: Author, Publish, Entrpreneur, or APE, as Guy Kawasaki so eloquently calls this modern day independent writer.

Turning to the future, I first give thanks to the many readers who have taken care of me. You have said nice things about me, sometimes even to my face. Yes, it makes me feel good, and to try even harder to win your words of praise again in the future.

For example, my recent book, “I Live In Chile” received these words of praise, which made me really feel good:


Thank you for that, Fee (Feathersssss). I really appreciate your kind words and your generosity with your time. I sincerely look forward to reading your customer review on Amazon.

My next major project will be the production of my first Audiobook for the book, “Story Tellers: In Pursuit of Happiness“.

This is absolutely new waters for me, producing an Audiobook. The last time I checked, Audiobook sales had a market of less than 10% of book sales, so it was easy for me to focus on eBooks and paperback books. I knew that sooner or later I would begin to invest the time and energy into teaching myself how to produce and promote an Audiobook.

One thing I read that made me go ahead with an Audiobook project now is that more and more people are beginning to turn to Audiobooks, because unlike reading, you can listen to your book at the same time you are doing something else, jogging, cooking, driving a car, riding on a bus or subway, etc. Audiobooks save people time, and that fact alone will help people to be more productive in their lives.

Before I go further, here is the book that will become my first Audiobook:

Story Tellers have always told the stories of man’s pursuit of gold and power. In this book we meet a mythical storyteller, Solomon, his wife Lanisha, and his son David. Through their stories we follow the earliest fortunes and misfortunes of man’s attempt to achieve tremendous wealth and power. It is a story which will leave you wiser about the true meaning of love, success, and happiness in our lives…

The Audiobook will be professionally narrated by Mr. Rich Crankshaw, from Brooklyn, New York. Rich Crankshaw is multitalented. He is a Voice actor, writer, producer, sound designer. As you can see, the Audiobook will be everything that it deserves to be: entertaining, professional, and high quality.

Read what the Industry is saying about Rich Crankshaw:

“Rich has that rare ability to self-produce his great sense of humor. He’s funny and he can deliver the goods in a professional package. He’s definitely using both sides of his brain.”

Ron Stevens
Executive Director
All Star Radio Networks, LLC

“Rich Crankshaw has a great voice for cartoons and narrations. His voice has a broad range of sounds. The best way to describe his voice is strong and funny.”

CARTOONGEMS.COM
CEO
JAMES RUMPF II

“Rich has a distinct voice and a wide range that he was able to tailor specifically to my needs. But what truly sets him apart is the professionalism and great service he provides. His voice files always arrived before the time promised, he greeted revisions with open arms and he was always available whenever we called. When I work with Rich I can expect hassle-free productions and great reads every single time.”

Jason Batts
Writer/Producer
WXMI FOX 17

“We’ve been using Rich for a number of years now. He never fails to deliver. Whether it’s one of his many characters or a straight read, Rich is always right on point. He always brings something to the party.”

Ray Rettig, Cotton Hill Studios, Inc.

“I have worked with Mr. Rich Crankshaw for a couple of months. Rich, is a hard working man, very dedicated and professional at what he does. I would recommend him to anyone and I would defiantly use his services again.”

Laurie Verrelli
President
www.internationalworldoftoys.com

“It’s nice to find a true professional that takes the time to get the job done right. Rich’s character voice was exactly what we were looking for and the project was delivered on schedule.”

Bruce R. Santhuff
Managing Director
Spaloo LLC

“Rich was a pleasure to work with. His professionalism shined through as he was able to deliver a character voice that was spot on for what I needed for my project. Considering the voice over was the most important part of my film, it was great to have someone with Rich’s talent come aboard. I look forward to working with him on future projects.”

J. Leland Malinski
director for Across the Bridge Productions
www.acrossthebridgeproductions.com

Source: Rich Crankshaw http://richcrankshaw.com/

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

