When did you start listening to #audiobooks?


When did you start listening to audiobooks?

My first audiobook was Barack Obama’s “Dreams From My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance“.

I do not think I could have chosen a better audiobook for a first listening experience. Rather than tell you I liked the story Obama told, the issues he dealt with, the candor and clarity with which he spoke, I will simply say: I liked and enjoyed the muicality, the cadence and the rhythm, the syncopation and synchronicity with which he spoke.

Others were much more eloquent than I. Here’s what they said about Obama’s, “Dreams From My Father”:

Toni Morrison, a Nobel Laureate novelist: “…his ability to reflect on this extraordinary mesh of experiences that he has had, some familiar and some not, and to really meditate on that the way he does, and to set up scenes in narrative structure, dialogue, conversation—all of these things that you don’t often see, obviously, in the routine political memoir biography. … It’s unique. It’s his. There are no other ones like that.”[31]

The author Philip Roth called the book: “well done and very persuasive and memorable.”

Rob Woodard wrote that Dreams from My Father “is easily the most honest, daring, and ambitious volume put out by a major US politician in the last 50 years.”

Michiko Kakutani, the Pulitzer Prize-winning critic for The New York Times, described it as “the most evocative, lyrical and candid autobiography written by a future president.”

The audio book edition earned Obama the 2006 Grammy Award for Best Spoken Word Album.

Source: Wikipedia

That’s my story. The rest is history, as they say. So, when did you start listening to audiobooks?

Oh, before I go, I want to share that a book of mine (Story Tellers: In Pursuit of Happiness), a middle-grade magic and mysticism, children’s book that is enjoyable by the whole family (age 10 to 100), will be coming out soon as an audiobook.

Please sample the audition here and support the book by buying a copy! I thank you in advance for your support, generosity, and your love. As Barack Obama would say, “I Love You Back!”

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Authors, Culture, Reflections, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

