“I Still Have to Return to Chile”, or, Heard it was fascinating! So I just bought: ‘I Live In Chile’

Heard it was fascinating…so I just bought it. The book everyone is talking about, reading about, is none other than the best seller, “I Live In Chile”. No doubt you have heard about it too.

Chile is a special place. The people are warm, friendly, and passionate about their country, their wine, and their national football team.

The music is like nothing you have ever heard before, and the dance has to be seen to be fully understood in all its beauty, grace and emotion.

¡Viva Chile!…

Pablo Neruda, Chile’s Nobel Prize winning poet, said this about Chile in a January 1970 interview for the Paris Review:

(quote) “This is my country, Chile. I am one of those Chileans in perpetuity, one who, no matter how well they treat me elsewhere, must return to my country. I like the great cities of Europe: I adore the Arno Valley, and certain streets of Copenhagen and Stockholm, and naturally, Paris, Paris, Paris, and yet I still have to return to Chile… (end of quote) Source: January 1970, the Paris Review, (Pablo Neruda, The Art of Poetry No. 14, Interviewed by Rita Guibert)

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Authors, Culture, Interviews, Reading, Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

