#ASMSG The Basic #Book Review: Who, What & Why

Very soon I will be coming out with a new book about writing book reviews. As is usual with me, it will be more practical than theoretical. It will not be me telling you how to write a book review. I will show you how I write book reviews.

My method is simple, namely, I follow the guidance Amazon gives. When you write a book review, do three things:

1. Tell what you liked or disliked
2. Tell why you rated the book as you did
3. Tell who you recommend the book for

That is a good basic formula for writing book reviews. Who, What & Why makes everything clear for both the reader and the author. Such a review is always going to be respected, by the overwhelming majority of people who read the review.

Below you will see an actual review using Amazon’s “Who, What & Why ” formula for writing a good book review. Again, the idea is to learn from a practical viewpoint, and then modify and adapt the basic approach to fit your own individual writing style…

**
Review Title:

Not Every Relationship Ends Roughly, or, Should I Go Back To My Ex?

Book:
Guide To Being Attractive: What To Do When You Love an Ex Boyfriend and How To Get Ex Husband Back [Kindle Edition]
by Andreas Schneider

Review:

Not every relationship ends roughly. Some do, yes, and some don’t. This book is obviously about the relationships that somehow never had that dramatic, hate-your-guts-forever ending. In my case, I have experienced both, a love that ended in a lifetime of hate, and a love, that never ended…If you give this book a chance, it is a very personal read. You have to replay in your mind past moments of joy and happiness, and equally reflect on what it was that caused you to go separate ways. Sometimes, you can backtrack, and return, and other times, it is no longer possible.

As time and distance multiplies, it is most likely true what the great poet Robert Frost had to say, (quote) “Yet knowing how way leads on to way, I doubted if I should ever come back. I shall be telling this with a sigh, Somewhere ages and ages hence…(end of quote)

I recommend this book for anyone who has not “traveled” far away from a lost love, who is close in time and distance, so as to go back, if it is possible. In my case, this book comes much too late…I can no longer go back to my lost love… Instead…I must go forward to where I have found the greatest love of my life…my dear Gaby. This book gets a rating of 4 stars because there are people like myself for whom this book will be useful only as a pretext for a reflection. For others, however, this book is golden. I hope this book is a golden treasure for its readers, but for me, it comes too late, or maybe, it simply tells my story…

Reviewed by Thomas Jerome Baker
Author of How to Coach a Debate Team (Volume 1)

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Authors, Culture, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

