5★★★★★ #BookReview: The International Baccalaureate #ASMSG #KindleUnlimited #AmazonPrime

The International Baccalaureate Program
Authored by Thomas Jerome Baker

“An international education must go well beyond the provision of information and is involved in the development of attitudes and values which transcend barriers of race, class, religion, gender or politics.” -International Baccalaureate Organization Subject Guide (1996).

It is my belief that any education that does not unite the nations of the world in a common endeavour is a relic of the past century. A common sense of sharing the responsibility, equally, for the welfare of the planet, globally, is needed more than ever today.

Finally, I can only say one thing: The IB program is a positive way forward for any education system in crisis, any education system that desires quality, any education system that aspires to excellence, any education system that wishes to educate its citizens in the image of the twenty-first century, rather than the past century…

★★★★★ Book Review:

The International Baccalaureate

Excellent Resource & Thought Provoking!!!!
July 20, 2014
By Amazon Customer
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Reading this book reminded me of one of my favorite quote: “Don’t let schooling get in the way of your education.” ~ Mark Twain

When I was 8 years old I remember sitting in my 3rd grade elementary school class very confused and bored out of my mind. I had no clue what the purpose of school was and better yet how it would help me in the future. I grew up in very poor neighborhood; Crown Heights, Brooklyn, New York. Schooling was just too much theory and not enough application.

After many years of struggles, I now have a very successful career in corporate America, I’m a successful business owner and bestselling author! I realize that having an entrepreneurial mindset; things had to be practical for me and traditional schooling is everything but practical! I love learning but I have to be honest I was very skeptical about International Bachelaureate system of education, but after giving the book a fair shot and reading it to the end I realize that anyone interesting in making education more practical would love this book.

This book is an excellent resource. The author, Thomas Baker, provides information that is relevant for anyone who is interested in the quality of education. Thomas Baker is non-partisan, he doesn’t take sides a priori. After looking at both sides, he reaches a conclusion that the evidence available clearly indicates that the International Baccalaureate system of education is the best in the world.

Whether you agree or disagree with his assessment of the International Baccalaureate, you are sure to find this book a well informed and well-researched, excellent resource. Baker’s enthusiasm, in the end, is well justified based on the case studies he examines. I highly recommend this book for anyone with an interest in high quality education.

Reviewed by Kevin J Donaldson,
Author of 10 Secrets of the New Rich: How To Join The World’s New Breed Of Millionaires

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Authors, Baccalaureate, Culture, Education, Higher Education Teaching & Learning, Reflections, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

