Reviewers Are Saying: “Alexis Sanchez: The Beautiful Game” #ASMSG #Mondayblogs #IARTG

This book is not a biography of Alexis Sanchez. Rather, it seeks to celebrate the excitement, passion, and enjoyment of the game of football that Alexis Sanchez brings to the sport. The signing of Alexis Sanchez to the best football team in the world, FC Barcelona, was just such a moment. In his final season with Barcelona, Sanchez scored 21 goals and made 10 assists. In the 2014 World Cup, he scored 2 goals for Chile. There is no doubt that Arsenal Football Club has signed one of the most exciting young players in the game today. He plays the “Beautiful Game” as well as any player. In that sense, it is worth holding Alexis “Electric” Sanchez, the marvelous Chilean football player, in our collective memory of , “The Beautiful Game”…

What The Reviewers Are Saying

A True Hero
by Susan Day (Australia)

Baker begins this intriguing tale with an account of his favourite goal by Alexis Sanchez. Not only did this superstar kick four goals in one match each one holds a special memory for his fans and especially this author.

I have to admit that I knew nothing of Alexis Sanchez before I read this book. I’m not really into sport and being Australian, I don’t know much about world football or soccer as we still call it here. Nonetheless, I was enthralled by this book. Why? Because it is the story of a true hero and a great mentor.

Baker is able to reveal the real person behind the sporting star. Sanchez is certainly one of those rare human beings who has not forgotten where he came from. He is also clearly not ashamed of his poor roots. He gives to the poor, adores his family and supports the little-league teams in his home town.

The videos presented in this book via links are exceptional. They are also a great way to add value to the book. I found myself becoming enthralled by the speed and accuracy of Sanchez’s moves.

The book ends with a great interview provided by the author where we find out more about this great star. If you’re a fan of World Soccer you are going to love this book. If you’re a Chilean more so perhaps.

I found the book interesting and can highly recommend it for anyone studying how sporting fame can either make or break a human being. I also believe that young teens would find this book very interesting and hopefully look up to Sanchez as a great role model. I’d like to thank the author for teaching me about a great human being.
**

The Beautiful Game
by Jonny (USA)

Watching Alexis Sanchez play football reminds me of watching Michael Jordan play basketball. Sanchez is like Michael. Alexis was born poor, so poor that he played games barefoot because he didn’t have any money for shoes. Like Michael, Sanchez worked hard on his ability to play the game and to overcome adversity. Michael had a good family life with mother and father to support him and guide him, Sanchez only had his mother. He has a very close relationship with his mother. As a player, Sanchez plays the game as if he were three men. He is a star, but also a team player with a desire to win. He is a champion on and off the field, just like Michael. I recommend this book for boys and girls of all ages, from 8 to 80, to read. You won’t be disappointed.
**

Poetry In Motion
by Caujuan Akim Mayo
(San Diego, California, USA)

Football is just not my game. It holds no interest for me. 22 players running up and down a big field for 90 minutes only to finish with a score of 1-0 does not even begin to hold my interest. Since I received a free copy of the book in exchange for my fair and honest review, I decided to read the book anyway. When I read it, I admit I was bored at first. It read like Alexis Sanchez had paid the author to rave about his playing ability! But then I saw the first video where Sanchez does with his feet what a magician does with his hands to mislead the goalkeeper. I slowed that bit right down to see exactly how he did it. I can see now why the author describes Sanchez as poetry in motion. His goal was amazing, and from that point on I was hooked. I wanted to know more about Alexis Sánchez. Why did Manchester City pull out of the bidding for him? They must surely be aware that they missed out signing an excellent player. And then there is the fantastic goal he scored for Barcelona against Real Madrid. The commentary by Ray Hudson is priceless: Quote – “He’s off running like he’s got a lobster down his shorts, but then he puts the ceramic brakes on…and then, takes the gravity of the moon and the planets into consideration“… Even though I still don’t like football, the game is just too boring for me, I have become a fan of Alexis Sanchez. 5 stars for Alexis Sanchez.
**

The Beautiful Game
by Karen Prince
(South Africa)

This book was recommended to me by a friend as a quick read and a great insight into the game of football. I enjoyed reading it for many reasons. Since it is not a biography, the author was free to share what he likes best about Alexis Sanchez. He writes about the way Sanchez plays football, how successful Sanchez has been, and how humble Sanchez is as a person. He also talks about how the game of football is able to transcend being just a game and become a social commentary for our times.

It was a delightful and interesting book which I would happily recommend to my friends and I think that most will agree that football is a beautiful game after reading this book!
**

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Culture, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

