Help Me Celebrate 1 Million Views: 5 Days Till #Christmas #MondayBlogs #MerryChristmas #Xmas #ASMSG

Mandela

Welcome to the celebration. It’s five days until Christmas, and I’m celebrating an early Christmas gift. I’m celebrating one million page views on this blog. That’s incredible, amazing, and for me, mindboggling. I can’t even count to one million…well, if I did count to one million, it would probably take me a million days to do it.

So, I’m happy today. One million page views is an incredible number. It deserves to be celebrated with the people who made it happen. That means all of the people who came to read my writing on this blog. As you know, it has been in a constant state of evolution over the years.

What appears on this blog is personal, it is professional, and above all, it is not perfect. I write what I believe in. I write what I believe is important. I write what I would like to share with a good friend, you, the reader(s).

Each year, I’ve written less than the previous year. I’ve grown more insightful, more observant, more meticulous about what I share with you. I’ve never tried to be all things to all people. Often, what I write is counter to the beliefs and opinions that you might have. This is good, the fact that you may not always agree with me. It allows us to exercise our best judgement about the issues of the day.
1 - 1 A Million Site Visits
1 - 1 A Months & Years

As you know, I’m passionate about education, especially education in Chile. Education in Chile (public education) is currently undergoing a transformative process, from a market based theoretical underpinning, to a more equitable, inclusive model. Although I work in the private sector, I am in full agreement that equity and inclusion of all socioeconomic backgrounds in the same classroom would greatly benefit social cohesion in Chile, and ultimately, provide a solid framework to achieve higher quality education for everyone.

Speaking of education, I am no longer the Coordinator of the English Department at Colegio Internacional SEK Chile, a position I’ve held for the past 4 years. I’m proud of what the English department was able to achieve during that time. Here are a few highlights, if you will indulge me:

1. Ranked in Top 1% of schools in Chile in 2012
2. Ranked in Top 2% of schools in Chile in 2010
3. Over 90% success rate / pass rate on international exams
4. Passed International Baccalaureate MYP evaluation
5. 100% of English teachers international certified at CEFR level B2/FCE or higher

I would be remiss if I did not include the following:

6. 65 books written and published in 4 years

Wow! How did I do that? How did I write so many books? And then publish them? And then promote them?

That’s easy. None of it would have been possible without the love, understanding and support of my wife, Gabriela. Without her, I would be doing none of the things that I do. Somehow, she makes it all seem like what I do matters. When I look in her eyes, and I see her smiling face, and hear her speak the words from her heart to mine, “I Love You”, then it is the least I can do to give her something in return. And that’s the secret of my writing. I put my soul into it, my heart, and my mind, knowing that there is one person, my Gaby, who makes it all worthwhile.

So, what’s ahead for me?

I think now is the best possible time for me to seek a new challenge. So, I’m looking for a new job. Let me repeat that:

I’M LOOKING FOR A NEW JOB

There, I said it quite loud, but it’s only because I wanted to convince you I’m serious. There is always a moment in time when you find yourself at a crossroads. You basically have two choices,

1) to just play it safe, and stay where you are. It’s familiar, there are no surprises, tranquil, predictable. If I stayed at my current job, as a teacher of English at Colegio SEK International School, I would be playing it safe.

2) The second choice is to take a risk, and try something new. That’s scary, because what if you fail? The unknown is full of surprises, turbulent, and unpredictable. If I take a new job, in a new capacity, I would definitely NOT be playing it safe.

A very wise man (Nelson Mandela) said: “There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.”

As I said before, I’m looking for a new job.

I have nothing else that I would like to accomplish at my current job, no unfinished business.

The time I’ve invested in my work over the past four years have been mutually beneficial for everyone concerned. Nonetheless, nobody is irreplaceable. I was fortunate to have played a significant role in the preparation of the person who will succeed me. There is an absolute confidence that success will reward the efforts of the future.

So, if you think I would be a good addition to your educational efforts in the field of English Language Teaching in Chile, contact me and let me know how I can help you to achieve your goals. It would be a pleasure and an honor for me to consider your proposal.

In sum, I am thankful beyond words for all of you, each and every person who has read my writing on this blog. Without your readership, most certainly my authorship would not have been as it was. You have my gratitude, and my hope that you will continue to support my efforts as a writer, as a teacher of English, and as a human being. Thank you, again.

Next year, on January 5, 2015, (I think that is the date), I will be down south, in Concepción, Chile, giving a presentation to teachers of English in the DAEM of the Hualpén community. I will be talking about the way in which I believe Chile can become a bilingual country, why it matters, and how the seemingly impossible goal (bilingualism) is within the limits of our human potential. I promise it will be interesting, thought provoking, and above all, well worth your time to attend the seminar.

Finally, let me close this very special post, because how often do you get a chance to make two important and special announcements at the same time?

1. I’m looking for a new job. Contact me if you think I can help you.

2. This blog has had ONE MILLION PAGE VIEWS. Amazing and awesome, fabulous and fantastic, marvelous and magnificent!

For me, this is the first time ever. It’s taken four years, and hopefully, the next million page views will come even sooner.

There are only five days until Christmas. Gaby and I wish you and your family and friends a very Merry Christmas, a Prosperous New Year, and lots of Happiness in 2015!

Signed,
Thomas Baker
(Happy Holidays)

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, EFL, Reflections, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

