#ASMSG Support My #Thunderclap Campaign: The Most Common Way People Give Up Their Power

Alice Walker

The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any. – Alice Walker
(quote from The Best Liberal Quotes Ever : Why the Left is Right (2004) by William P. Martin, p. 173)

Call to Action: Support My Thunderclap Campaign

The Past Has No Power <== click the link to support my Thunderclap Campaign

 

 

What is a Thunderclap Campaign?

It is a way of thinking, a mindset that realizes that we as individuals do have power. With such a realization, we are encouraged to reflect on how to exercise the power of the individual. After all, one person is only one person. We have but one voice to make ourselves “heard” with.

How To Amplify Your Voice

To be heard, and taken seriously, it follows that we need to speak loudly with the one voice that we have. If we wish to speak louder, we join other individuals in a group and then speak as one. The result is a crowd. In the crowd, however, the individual tends to “get lost.” What we are saying is loud, yes, but it isn’t quite exactly, precisely, what I wanted to say.

Speak Loud, Speak Proud

To speak loud, and speak proud, we need ownership of the words spoken. I mean to say, all of the words. So we are faced with a dilemma. If I speak loud, I need a crowd. But the words belong to everybody, the words might even be hollow, even lack meaning. Example? I will give you two examples.

  1. “Yes We Can”
  2. “Make America Great Again”

Thunderclap

Thunderclap is a social media platform that allows me to solve the dilemma of speaking loud and also having ownership of the words. Thunderclap makes me an individual with an extremely loud and powerful voice while retaining ownership of the message, the exact message, the precise message. So how does it work?

How Thunderclap Works

There are three steps:

thunderclap3

Step 1: Create your campaign

Here is the campaign I created to support my book, Story Tellers:

I called it, “The Past Has No Power.” My reason for naming a book campaign in this way is because as an Indie Author, self-published, the past predicts that my efforts are going to be unsuccessful. I am going to fail. I don’t have resources, I don’t have insider knowledge, I don’t have professional expertise. No matter how powerful I think I may be, the reality is against me.

Of course, I am so powerful that I realize that I can only be defeated if I give up. As long as I never give up, as long as I fight the good fight, then destiny will have to hear my voice. Below is the voice I wish to amplify through the creative power of Thunderclap:

The Past Has No Power

Readers of all ages will enjoy reading this book. It is an inspirational story, because it is a true reflection of reality. You see this reality through the eyes of the Storyteller, his wife Lanisha, and their son, David. The book brings together fantasy and fiction, wizard and witch, redemption and religion, mysticism and myth, magic,,,and monsters too. Why? How? To tell a never ending story about human relationships. We meet a man and his wife, a father and his son, a mother and her son, a family just like any other family. It is a family in pursuit of happiness, just like your family and my family.

The plot is delicious, intriguing and satisfying because it tries to explain things that are not explainable. The Storyteller uses riddles and enigmas as a storytelling device to help the boy remember the stories told by the father.
There are many problems that must be faced. The son must go on a dangerous journey all alone. The characters have secrets, nobody knows everything about each other, so trust and faith become themes that run throughout the book.

The story shows you how when everything is good, it is easy to show your love. It is difficult to show your love when bad things happen, when the people we love and trust, respect and look up to, a father, a mother, a friend, a son, is not everything that he or she seems to be.

What do we do when we get disappointed? Do we stop loving one another, or do we forgive and forget? Is that possible? Can things ever be the same again when someone you love tells a lie, tricks you, deceives you, cheats on you?

How do you solve that problem when it happens to you? The answer to that question in this book will surprise you, make you think about the quality of your relationships, and inspire you to be a better person in your relationships with your friends, and your family. After all, it is never too late to be good. We must never forget that the past has no power over the present moment…

Step 2: Promote

Now that I have been creative, I can now move on to the promotion of my Thunderclap Campaign. In this step, it is the members of the social media community who support my campaign by selecting either Facebook, or Twitter, or Tumbler, or two of these, or even all three.  If I reach my target goal, which is 250 supporters, then at the appointed hour of the appointed day, my Thunder Clap will launch like a rocket ship.

Step 3: Launch

When the time comes which I have selected in the creative phase, Sunday, April 10th, at 12:00 PM (that’s high noon) there will be a social media explosion. BOOM!

TC

My message wil be heard loud and clear. Mt message will be sent out at the same time to hundreds of thousands of people, even millions of people, all at the same time. For one tenth of a milisecond, my message will be the most important thing in the universe. And some people will stop, and take the time to find out more about my book.

Yes, I know. It’s only a book. It’s not Donald Trump. Nothing could top Trump’s rhetoric. It’s not Hillary Clinton. God only knows if it’s time for a woman to be President of the USA, a qualified woman, an imperfect human like all the other Presidents we have had.

What I’m saying is that when my Thunderclap goes BOOM! and explodes into the Facebook world, the Twitter universe, and the Tumblr planet, the world will not stop to hold it’s breath. And that will be fine with me, because you see, for one tenth of a millisecond, my book will have all the attention that is normally reserved for people like Stephen King, J. K. Rowling, and other literary luminaries.

For one tenth of a millisecond, I get to be just as big as they are…

But time is running out. Only 61 people have supported me.

61

If I don’t get to 250 supporters before high noon tomorrow, that’s 12:00 PM tomorrow, then the Past will have exercised its Power Over Me.

The Past says it is impossible for me to reach 250 supporters by midday tomorrow.

The Past, however, does not determine the present.

In the Present, we know we can make it happen, one by one, if you support me, if you pass the word to a friend, and that friend will support me, and pass the word to a friend, and on and on, until we get to 250 by noon tomorrow.

We have a path to 250 supporters. We have time to make it happen.

All we have to do is not give up.

If we refuse to surrender to the cynics who say 250 supporters by noon is impossible, we can make it happen. Yes We Can.

We can reach 250 by noon.

Yes We Can.

Please support my Thunderclap Campaign. <== click the link

Ask your friends to support me too. <== click the link

Let’s Make Some Thunder Together.

Alice Walker

 

 

 

 

 

 

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Authors, book reviews, Connectivism, Culture, Reflections, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

