#MondayBlogs AuthorInterview: C. N. Lesley, #Author of The “Darkspires” Series #ASMSG

Hello Elizabeth. Do you mind if I call you Liz?

Sword of Shadows

Hello Thomas. Thanks for inviting me to do this inteview with you. Yes of course, Liz is fine with me. If you don’t mind, I’ll call you “Tom”.

That’s fine with me Liz. Let’s begin with your author name and your real name. Tell me a little more about that.

C N Lesley (Smiling) Sure, Tom. My author name is C.N. Lesley, which is a name I didn’t imagine I would need until I found someone quite well known was already published under my legal name of Elizabeth Hull. So that’s how I came to use a pen name.

Liz, please tell my readers a little about yourself and how many books you have written.

I live in central Alberta, Canada with my cats and my daughters and their families are nearby. I have four novels published to date and stories in three anthologies. Upcoming are another two novels and one story in an anthology. I also have two short stories out there.

What is the name of your new book?

The latest one to hit the shelves is Serpent of the Shangrove, which is book two in the Darkspires series.

What is the book about?

A shapeshifting fantasy about acceptance, courage and the strength to move forward in the face of adversity. It can stand alone, but it is the continuation of the story started in Darkspire Reaches.

That sounds like something that will resonate with readers quite well. Nowadays, it takes courage and strength just to face ur daily lives. I have some friends who say the evening news is a horror show. Liz, I’m interested to know more about your writing habits.

Do you have any unusual writing habits?

I usually have two works in progress going at the same time. Maybe that is weird? I find it helps if I can flit between one book and another if the ideas dry up. This is important for me as I found outlining does not work. The story must flow naturally as it comes on that particular day.

What authors, or books have influenced you?

J.R.R Tolkien, Frank Herbert, Michael Moorcock, John Masefield, John Wyndham, Agatha Christie, Jane Austin, Shakespeare and Chaucer.

What other books are you working on now?

Currently I am working on the final pass of Chalice of the Shadows, which is the third book in my futuristic, dystopian Arthurian series. I am also finishing a contemporary paranormal fantasy, which is something new for me, but has been fun to write. In the pipeline are a third Darkspires book, a science fiction epic and a fantasy epic. That last does include elves but not the sort who wear green pantyhose and hug trees. This story is a lot darker.

What is your best method or website when it comes to promoting your books?

I have my own website at https://cnlesley.com/ with some samples of my work as well as some free stories.   Aside from that, I am on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Google plus, BingBing, Wattpad and Pinterest.

Do you have any advice for new authors?

Lots of reading helps. Also develop a very think skin. Not everyone will like your stuff and some with swipe at it, even some that it is obvious have never read any of it. Take the high road and never feed the trolls with attention. The good reviews will just stand out even more.  

What is the best advice you have ever heard for authors?

Write something, anything each day even if you find it is garbage the next day.

What are you reading now?

Right now I have just started a book billed as a sci-fi technothriller. I am only two pages in, but it looks good. I have just finished a space fantasy sci fi I loved and I have two detective books in my line up, along with another fantasy and a dystopia.

What’s next for you as a writer?

Keep writing on my series and hopefully have time for my bright, new shiny ideas.

If you were going to be stranded on a desert island and allowed to take 3 or 4 books with you what books would you bring?

Mmm, Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien, Dune by Frank Herbert, Homer’s works, the Iliad and the Odyssey as one cannot really be read without the other and lastly the complete works of Chaucer.

Thank you for the interview Liz.

It’s been a pleasure Thomas. Thanks for inviting me.

Social Media Tools:

Blog/Website: https://cnlesley.com/

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00HTV3GV8

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/C.N.Lesley/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/darkspires

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/cnlesley/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQrgwj1oeu5EPvu5DW8_TRg

Tumblr: http://elizabethhull.tumblr.com/

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+ElizabethHullCNLesley

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Authors, book reviews, Interviews, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #MondayBlogs AuthorInterview: C. N. Lesley, #Author of The “Darkspires” Series #ASMSG

  1. Pingback: #MondayBlogs AuthorInterview: C. N. Lesley, #Author of The “Darkspires” Series #ASMSG | cnlesley

Leave a Reply

