#AuthorInterview! Spotlight on Amazing #Author Ciella Naden: She’s Only 16!

Ciella NadenThomas: Ciella Naden, welcome to my blog.

Ciella: Thanks for inviting me.

Tom: (smiling) That’s a very cool mask you have on Ciella. Could you please tell my readers something about yourself and your books.

Ciella: I’m 16 years old, and I’ve written 2 books so far. I have learning disabilities, but they don’t have me.

I’m currently taking acting lessons and was just cast in The Addam’s Family musical in my home town.

I also run my own crocheting business called From Heart to Hand Crochet Designs. You can find it on Facebook.

I love to watch anime, listen to music, and my favorite actors are Nat Wolff and Freddie Highmore.

Tom: I’m amazed. That’s an amazing list of accomplishments for a 16 year old.

Ciella: Thank you.

Tom: Let’s talk about your books. What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?

Ciella: My latest book is called Faowyn, and it will be released on June 1st. It’s currently in pre-order on Amazon. I got the idea to write Faowyn after finishing a fox paint-by-numbers.

Tom: So first you did a painting. When you finished you thought to yourself, “I can write a book to go with this painting.”

Ciella: Yes, that’s more or less the way it happened.

Tom: Well, let me be the first to tell you, it’s a beautiful piece of art and the kind of cover artwork that grabs people’s attention and makes you want to have a copy for yourself. Congratulations on your work. It’s exquisitely well done.

Ciella: Thanks.

984289_ehwhebupTom: I want to share the blurb for this book with my readers. (Looks directly into the camera and begins to read):

“Fourteen-year-old Evely takes a nature walk in the forest to collect fern leaves for her biology class. But what she discovers there will question how she sees nature.

Evely enters another world full of giant talking animals. This is Faowyn’s world…where foxes are royal guardians who live to protect humans. But from what?

Ciella Naden is the daughter of Author Cynthia P. Willow. Ciella began her writing career with a home-school assignment when she was only thirteen years old. She wrote “Faowyn” when she was fourteen years old. Find out more about Ciella at www.cynthiapwillow.com.”

Ciella: On my mom’s page you can find out more about my books and my acting.

Tom: I took a look just then. You have been quite a busy young lady! (smiling) Ciella, I’d like to know what authors, or books have influenced you?

Ciella: I really enjoyed The Land of Elyon series by Patrick Carman and Fablehaven by Brandon Mull.

Tom: Both of those writers write in the young adult, fantasy, magic genre. Brandon Mull grabs my attention especially. Here’s what one reviewer had to say about his debut novel, “Fablehaven“:

This starts off as a routine fantasy footprint – two kids, Kendra and Seth, get palmed off on their grandparents for a visit that becomes a lot more than they ever dreamed.
As they soon learn, Fablehaven is no ordinary country estate, but a protected area for magical creatures, and their grandfather is the current caretaker.

As if that weren’t enough, their grandmother has disappeared, and granddad isn’t telling the truth about her whereabouts.

But here’s where it really gets interesting – Brandon Mull overturns conventional thinking on fairies, and when Seth makes a terrible mistake, the retribution is swift and merciless. At Fablehaven, a giant cow gives enchanted milk that allows the fairies to be seen, naiads frolic in a lake, satyrs drop by for adult parties, and a witch sits in a shack in the forest imprisoned by magical knots.

Soon it’s Midsummer Eve, one of the nights when magic reigns free, and when the children break the rules, the aftermath is chilling. As a result of their disobedience, the two children find themselves alone except for a hen, and it’s up to them to rescue their grandfather, the housekeeper, and Fablehaven itself, before a powerful demon is released from his prison.

Wildly imaginative, this is a wonderful debut for Mull – may he write many more chapters, and very soon.

Amanda Richards, August 29, 2006

5.0 out of 5 stars

Tom: Ciella, I wanted to share this with you because this was Brandon Mull’s debut novel. As you can see, he had phenomenal success with “Fablehaven.” I’d like to ask you to share your thoughts about the development of a writer over the course of their writing career. For example, would you prefer to have a lot of success early in your career, or to have success come to you gradually, as you grow and learn throughout your life?

Ciella: Wow! (smiling) That’s a difficult question to answer. Honestly, I think success is always going to be welcome whenever it comes, and hopefully that is sooner rather than later. I have read about many authors who became famous after they were dead, which is sad. Why couldn’t their work be recognized while they were alive?

Tom: That’s so true Ciella. Let me name a few authors who never tasted any significant degree of success while they were alive:

Henry David Thoreau, Franz Kafka, Emily Dickinson, Anne Frank, Jane Austen, John Kennedy Toole, Stieg Larsson, Sylvia Plath, Henry Darger, and Edgar Allan Poe.

Ciella: (smiling) You forgot one Tom.

Tom: Really? Who did I leave off that list?

Ciella: Herman Melville…

Tom:  (snapping my fingers) Of course. Moby Dick. How could I have forgotten him? Moby Dick was an absolute failure while he was alive. Everybody hated that book. Melville couldn’t even pay people to read his book. He quit writing, got a job to support himself, and became an alcoholic.

Ciela: And now just about everybody in the world has read his book…

Tom: Yes, it’s incredible the way things worked out for him. What we can takeaway from these examples is that if authors are willing to keep working, improving their craft over the course of a lifetime, then destiny is willing to step in and do her part also. In the end, writers have the possibility of becoming immortal. Ciella, can you tell me what are you working on now?

Ciella: In the near future I will be working on the Faowyn prequel and the sequel to Cat Tales and Whiskers.

Tom: I’m glad you mentioned that book Ciella. It has received many compliments from your readers. Twenty one people rated it five stars, the highest rating possible for a book.  Did this surprise you or were you fairly sure that you had done an exceptional piece of writing?

Ciella: Honestly, I wasn’t expecting it. I wrote and rewrote that story several times, trying to make it perfect, but I wasn’t sure what people would say about it.

Tom: I know your mom is an excellent authorin her own right. Was all the rewriting her influence on you somehow?

Ciella: Yes, in a way. I wanted to make her proud of me, but this is my story. I wanted to do my best work so that I could be proud of myself. When I was sure that I couldn’t make it any better, then I was satisfied. (smiles)

Tom: Do you have any advice for new authors?

Ciella: Don’t ever quit!

Tom: If you were going to be stranded on a desert island and allowed to take 3 or 4 books with you what books would you take?

Ciella: The Bible, The Giving Tree, In a Dark, Dark Room, and Hollow Fields

Tom: Ciella, thank you kindly for taking the time out of your busy schedule to be here today. You have been an absolutely charming, and mysterious guest. You’re the first author who’s ever worn a mask when they appeared on my blog. (smiling)

Ciella: Thank you for inviting me. It was a pleasure to be here…

Social Media Tools:

Author’s Email: sapphiretheweepingwillow@yahoo.com

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Ciella-Naden/e/B01FMPLTHA

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CiellaNaden/?fref=ts

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CiellaNaden

Instagram: ciella_naden99

YouTube: Faowyn book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nh0IoEIQXx4

Cat Tales and Whiskers book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBv2ADzZERg

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Authors, book reviews, Interviews, Reading, Reflections, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #AuthorInterview! Spotlight on Amazing #Author Ciella Naden: She’s Only 16!

  1. This is an awesome interview!

    Like

  2. segmation says:

    I like online paint by numbers as well. Thanks for sharing. http://www.segmation.com

    Like

  3. Pingback: #Author #Interview: Spotlight on Best-Selling Author Cindee P. Willow #MondayBlogs | Profesorbaker's Worldwide English Blog

Leave a Reply

