How I Write: “I Still Do Not Write” #CCK11 #ELTchat

Multiple Intelligences (Credit: Mark R. Kaser)

Theodore A, Hoppe says:
February 4, 2011 at 8:42 pm

I have to admit that I still do not write.

If it were not for the computer, I would not create written text. I compose in words, a challenging concept to describe: type sentences, shift them around, reread, cut and paste, re-read, add sentences, spelling check, dictionary lookup, and so forth. Typos are always there, still, so constant re-reading to re-edit is needed, always. And still they slip in, cemented forever on the wed (haha-”web”)

Many, millions, perhaps even most, are not oriented to the written word. Even though we read, it is not the same as the challenge of writing.

This is the source of much shame, when it is actually a process deficit of an intelligence type. Learning assumes a singularity of process, when language is but one of many processes.

Here I will reference Howard Gardner: Linguistic intelligence involves sensitivity to spoken and written language, the ability to learn languages, and the capacity to use language to accomplish certain goals.

This intelligence includes the ability to effectively use language to express oneself rhetorically or poetically; and language as a means to remember information. Writers, poets, lawyers and speakers are among those that Howard Gardner sees as having high linguistic intelligence.

Reply
profesorbaker says:
February 5, 2011 at 5:21 am

Hi Theodore,

Thank you for this incredible story that you share with me here. You began, in medias res, with a powerful, attention grabbing statement: (quote) “I have to admit that I still do not write”. (end of quote)

I read this, started to answer, and then left it, wanting to reflect, deeply, before answering. I will quote a second statement, if you will be patient with me: (quote) “This is the source of much shame.”

And now I quote myself: (quote) “Writing is a skill that requires a lot of practice to do well. It’s not easy.”

Here is a final quote from you: “If it were not for the computer, I would not create written text. I compose in words, a challenging concept to describe: type sentences, shift them around, re-read, cut and paste, re-read, add sentences spelling check, dictionary lookup, and so forth. Typos are always there, still, so constant re-reading to re-edit is needed, always. And still they slip in, cemented forever…”

Theodore, to sum up, you have my deepest admiration for your writing ability. You admit it’s difficult for you, painstaking, time-consuming. This causes you personal discomfort. For others, blessed with the linguistic intelligence described by Gardner, it is a matter of applying their linguistic gift to the writing task.

I would like to point out that you describe perfectly, in a comprehensive manner, the writing process. If my students would apply themselves to their writing, as diligently, and as purposefully as you do when you write, I would be a highly contented teacher of English.

Finally, I’d like to leave you with the words of Dr. Peter Elbow, regarding spelling and grammar: (quote) “Many, many good writers are not good with spelling, not good with grammar, but they know how to get the help they need.”

My friend, as defined by Dr. Peter Elbow, you are a good writer. Your words impacted me today, and will influence the way I go about teaching writing to my students, who have the disadvantage of writing in English as a foreign language.

The writing process, as you describe it here, going forward, then backward, editing, re-editing, re-ordering, cut and paste, and finally, when all is said and done in this process, the final product is ready.

In my book, that’s good writing, any day, rain or shine. That’s all it is, good writing…

Thank you for your valuable interaction here with me. I owe you a debt of gratitude for what I learned today.

Best regards,
Thomas

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Connectivism, Education, EFL, Teaching Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to How I Write: “I Still Do Not Write” #CCK11 #ELTchat

  1. marlita says:

    Poetry followed by insight. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment