Connectivism Explained…by its Practitioners #CCK11 #edchat #ELTchat #ukedchat #education #esl #elearning #lrnchat #edu #Obama #efl #esol #ell #TESOL #IATEFL #elt #whataconcept #egypt #Teachers #news

Shelly Terrell, the video Producer (Credit: Shelly Terrell - Twitter pic)


How many people do you know, who know, how an internal combustion engine works? I will be honest with you. I haven’t a clue, and this diagram doesn’t do much for me, either.

Now, if my ability to drive a car depended on my understanding this, then I’m certain I would work harder to improve my understanding. The good news for me is that I don’t have to do that.

I get in the car, put the key in the ignition, turn the key, and the car works. I drive off happy as can be, to whatever destination awaits me.

Internal Combustion Engine (Credit: How things work)


Practitioners of connectivism have also done something similar. All around the world, we are connected, interacting, doing global conferences, sharing information and resources, inspiring one another, helping one another to achieve incredible results, and most importantly, making the learning experience absolutely enjoyable for our students. We know this because they tell us so.

Today, a member of my PLN, a new member, Tracy, whom I have known for only the duration of this course, #CCK11, for about a month now, shared a video with everyone in the #CCK11 PLN. The video, extraordinary in its scope, dates back a full eleven (11) months.

You see how that works, right?

1. Aggregate
2. Remix
3. Repurpose
4. Feed it forward

Tracy was simply feeding the video forward, sharing the resource that she had come across, freely, without a thought to what was in it for her.

To me, the video is incredibly valuable. Why?

I consider it one of the best explanations of how connectivism really works that I have come across. It shows the perspective of the practitioner, and we look also “through the eyes” of students, the learners.

No words are spoken, it’s “Show and Tell”, eloquently displayed, and I am left with no doubt in my mind. The video is “Silent Thunder”, “Dry Rain”, “Icy Hot”, a perfect storm on a beautiful sunny day.

Shelly Terrell, the video Producer (Credit: Shelly Terrell - Twitter pic)


Am I contradicting myself, bu talking of opposite states as if they were natural occurences? No.

I’m pointing to the pure power that would be present in such circumstances. The explanatory, expressive power of the video is undeniable.

After watching the video, you will know what Practitioners of Connectivism do, how we, “turn the key”, in the internal combustion engine, so to speak, of the English Language Teaching profession.

As Montell Jordan sang in his song in yesteryear, “This is how we do it”.

Without further preamble, I give you, “Connectivism…as explained visually by its Practitioners…”

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Connectivism, Education, EFL and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Connectivism Explained…by its Practitioners #CCK11 #edchat #ELTchat #ukedchat #education #esl #elearning #lrnchat #edu #Obama #efl #esol #ell #TESOL #IATEFL #elt #whataconcept #egypt #Teachers #news

  1. Shelly says:

    When I read your blog, I feel that “perfect storm on a beautiful sunny day” you speak of. I added you to my feeder because your passion and metaphors and analogies speak volumes. When I asked the contributors of this video for submissions they where so incredible and amazing for doing this! I traveled to conferences to show it and have met many of them in person now. I have heard their stories and I’m always amazed by my Personal/Passionate Learning Network. You’re a part of that and I thank you for sharing this. The educators and students who contributed will love to hear they are making an impact. I truly believe through Connectivism and Passionate Learning Networks we are transforming education.

    Like

    • Hi Shelly,

      Thank you for stopping by to share your kind and generous words with me. I am obviously pleased, that you are pleased with the way your work is presented here.

      To be honest, it’s really like putting the key in the ignition, or, better yet, like flipping on the light switch. Everything works, and beautifully so.

      Thank you for being an inspiration to me, and countless others like me, to achieve our full potential as teachers of English. We appreciate you very much, Shelly.

      Finally, by all means, yes, please let your contributors, your students, your colleagues, let them all know that your impact is being felt globally. Leave no doubt about that, we are all connected.

      Best regards,
      Thomas

      Like

Leave a comment