Interview: Mr. Young, AKA Bernard Foong, Author of, “A Harem Boy’s Saga”

Thomas: Today, I have the great fortune to be interviewing Mr. Young, who is also known as Bernard Foong. Bernard, welcome to my blog.

Bernard: Thank you for inviting me Tom.

Tom: Thank you for taking the time to be here today. I know you have a very busy schedule, so I’m going to ask the questions I have prepared and you can elaborate as much or as little as you like. Is that OK with you, Bernard?

Bernard: That will be fine Tom.

Tom: Let’s start with you Bernard. Could you please tell my readers about your extraordinary life story and your books?

YoungBernard: I am Mr. Young, alias Bernard Foong. First and foremost, I am a sensitivist. I find nuance in everything. To experience the world I inhabit is an adventure which is mystical, childlike and refreshing. I have a rare ability to create beauty in a unique fashion. My palettes have been material, paint, words and human experiences.

My memoir is a series of provocative stories about my youth. As a young man, I was initiated into a clandestine sexual society. I was spirited to the Middle East, from my UK boarding school. I attended the Bahriji School (Oasis) in The United Arab Emirates in preparation for serving in Harems for the wealthy and elite.

My story is also a love story between a young man and his ‘Valet’ who served as my chaperone and mentor during my Harem service.

I had a privileged and unique upbringing in Malaysia, where I was known as a “sissy boy.” Following in my brothers’ footsteps, I was sent to an exclusive boarding school in England. It is there that I was inducted into a clandestine organization, E.R.O.S. The Enlightened Royal Oracle Society. For four years, unbeknownst to my family, I was willingly and happily part of a Harem.

Tom: That is an extraordinary story Bernard. It sounds like something right out of the movies.

Bernard: Tom, my story is being made into a movie.

Tom: You’re kidding me. Really? (Bernard nods his head, he is not kidding) OK, let’s come back to the movie a little later. Tell me about your fascinating books please.

Bernard: The first three books in the series are published.

Book one: A Harem Boy’s Saga – I – INITIATION; a memoir by Young.

Book two: A Harem Boy’s Saga – II – UNBRIDLED; a memoir by Young.

Book three: A Harem Boy’s Saga – III – DEBAUCHERY; a memoir by Young.

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Coming soon:

Book four: A Harem Boy’s Saga – IV – TURPITUDE; a memoir by Young.

Tom: What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?

Bernard: My latest book is a short story, titled:

The Truth Will Set You Free (a memoir by Young)

Tom: Do you have any unusual writing habits?

Bernard: I prefer writing during the day – preferably mornings before lunch. I have my writing desk and am on the computer almost all the time – 7 days a week..

Tom: What authors or books have influenced you?

Young

Bernard: There are many excellent independent writers that inspired me. It‘ll be unfair to list some and not all the ones I like.

But to list a couple from the many:

Anne Rice writing under A. N. Roquelaure –

  • The Erotic Trilogy of Sleeping Beauty.

Dan Brown –

  • Angels and Demons
  • Da Vinci Code
  • (but not his latest book – Inferno).

 

Tom: What are you working on now?

Bernard: Currently, I’m working diligently working on finishing book four: A Harem Boy’s Saga – IV – TURPITUDE; a memoir by Young.

Tom: How do you promote your books?

Bernard: Through Twitter and Facebook.

Tom: Do you have any advice for new authors?

 Bernard: My advice is to remind yourself daily of the 3Ps:

  • Persistence
  • Perseverance
  • Patience

 Tom: What is the best advice you have ever heard?

 “Enjoy the journey while you’re on your way to your destination.” Young

 Tom: What are you reading now?

 Bernard: Several books of different genres I’m writing reviews for.

Tom: What can you tell me about the movie you mentioned earlier?

Bernard: A Harem Boy’s Saga series is currently being adapted into a screenplay by a reputable UK/Hollywood producer for the big-screen. If everything is on schedule, it should premiere in the next couple of years.

If/when the series takes flight, it will be adapted into a TV miniseries and last but not least a Westend/Broadway musical adaptation.

Tom: If you were going to be stranded on a desert island and allowed to take 3 or 4 books with you what books would you bring?

  • 1) Anne Rice writing under A. N. Roquelaure –
  • The Erotic Trilogy of Sleeping Beauty.
  • 3) Dan Brown –
  • Angels and Demons
  • Da Vinci Code

Social Media Tools:

Email: young@aharemboysaga.com

Website: http://aharemboysaga.com/wp/

Blog: (viewer’s discretion – adult contents) http://bernardfoong.typepad.com/in_the_harem

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bfoong1

https://www.facebook.com/aharemboysaga

Twitter:

@aharemboysaga

@YoungFoong8

@BernardFoong

Pinterest: http://bit.ly/1IDX5DP

Amazon Author’s Page: http://amzn.to/1cZKgZ7

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1GijNSf

Video trailer for all the 3 books in A Harem Boy’s Saga series (overall version): http://youtu.be/F0Lv80yhhq0

Video trailer for INITIATION (sensual version):

http://bit.ly/1DOMft1

Video trailer for UNBRIDLED (sensual version):

http://bit.ly/1CqXmCP

Video trailer for DEBAUCHERY (sensual version): http://bit.ly/1NUcelM

A Harem Boy’s Saga; a memoir by Young – all amazon international site (E-books and Print books for Initiation, Unbridled and Debauchery) links:

No Distance Between Us Amazon E-book sales link:

http://amzn.to/1Asn0fO

The Truth Will Set You Free – Amazon E-book sales link:

getBook.at/TTWSYF

 

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Authors, book reviews, Culture, Interviews, Reading, Reflections, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Interview: Mr. Young, AKA Bernard Foong, Author of, “A Harem Boy’s Saga”

  1. Wow! That was fast Thomas. Thank you so much! Deeply grateful.

    Like

Leave a comment